“There’s no such thing as a three-year-old caterpillar.”

caterpillar on garbage can Mount Royal

“There’s no such thing as a three-year-old caterpillar.”

There it is, on a scrap of paper that I find as I do a clean-up of my desk.

“There’s no such thing as a three-year-old caterpillar.”

Where did these words come from? They are written in my barely legible handwriting, but did they come from my mind, or did I jot them down while listening to, watching or reading something else. But what?

I do a Google search, but this particular string of words does not, come up. An article about bird cherry Ermine moth caterpillars, or web worms, transforming a cemetery in Essex, England does, however, come up. So I read that and watch the accompanying video. I am impressed, but no closer to the origins of “There’s no such thing as a three-year-old caterpillar.”

Its source obscure, I concentrate on what it might mean. It occurs to me that a caterpillar that does not change into a butterfly is just a worm. So, if after 3 three years of believing you are a caterpillar you still don’t have wings, face up to the fact that you are just a worm and be the best possible worm you can be.

Then again, perhaps the person who wrote “There’s no such thing as a three-year-old caterpillar,” and there is a slim chance that person is me, did not mean it to say that at all.

If you want to read all the non-tanka writing on this blog, click here.

One thought on ““There’s no such thing as a three-year-old caterpillar.”

  1. Pingback: Moth caterpillar video | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

