Vieux Montreal

Blue Streaks_Chihuly_Montreal_20130811I can almost remember feeling

You move through sheets of rain,
The warmth of liquid motion
Intrigued me, having never before
Lingered in in a summer storm.
The water washed over cobblestones,
Cleared the grey dust off windows,
And I was surprised to realize
Those blurred movements were people
Behinds layers of streaked glass.

Later,

The storm passed,
A flicker of heat lightning,
You lay beside me and said

Something

I can almost remember feeling.

AGG20131102
(Redux of 1986 original)

Depth Charge: Yesterday, Nov 1, 2013, was unseasonably warm and late in the morning there was a violent downpour. I ducked into a doorway and began to write a poem about the warm rain, but so far it eludes me, so I have resurrected an old poem about warm summer rain and reworked it. The original event occurred in 1980. The original poem, already about the impossibility of complete recall, came about in 1986. Now, 27 years later, I am adding to the chain of obfuscation.

To read Songs about Sex, Death & Cicadas by Andrew Grimes Griffin, just click on the link. To download a pdf, right click on the link and select “Save link as…”

Leave a Reply

