Now my demon’s my playmate

Vivan's-Portrait-of-My-Deadly-Demon-Detail

Detail of Vivian Hodgson’s Portrait of My Personal Demon.

Then he frightened me
Naked—grinning in my dreams
Hiding in the dark
Now my demon’s my playmate
Together we have sweet fun

AGG20140110

Depth Charge: I still remember many of the vivid dreams of my childhood and one of them involved a demon who lived under the staircase in the basement of our house. I was around 11 years old when I had a dream about going down these stairs in the dark only to be confronted by a naked boy of my own age, except the boy’s head was just a skull, with a long tongue snaking out of the grinning bones. Needless to say, this dream was a bit disconcerting.  Years later on My Deathday celebration, Vivian Hodgson gave me one of her prints entitled “My Personal Demon.” She was unaware of my childhood dream.

Leave a Reply

