If we were to sing

Always Water II by Christine Trainor

Always Water II by Christine Trainor

If we were to sing
my blood red would flow,
first from my wide eyes,
iron, salt and sorrow.

My blood red would flow
into rivers of you,
iron, salt and sorrow
illuvium of life.

Into rivers of you
tiny creatures creeping,
illuvium of life,
I hear them when you’re sleeping.

Tiny creatures creeping,
First from my wide eyes,
I hear them when your’re sleeping:
If we were to sing…

AGG20140305
(for Cutty)

Depth Charge: For those interested in the writing process, the impetus for this poem came from reading the death poem of Bokukei: Cuckoo, I too/Sing, spitting blood/My welling thoughts on page 145 of Japanese Death Poems.

First, I wrote a tanka: If I were to sing/Blood would flow from my eyes/In a final song/A cicada in the heat/ Or some small thing in the trees, but decided instead to expand it to a pantoum, a form recently introduced to me by John Mackenzie.

As I am currently also reading The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes, The Negro Speaks of Rivers wound its way in there as well.

To read Songs about Sex, Death & Cicadas by Andrew Grimes Griffin, just click on the link. To download a pdf, right click on the link and select “Save link as…”

Leave a Reply

