Yet another response to Li Qingzhao’s “As in a Dream: A Song”

Who are all these men in front of me?
Flickering shades across my cellphone screen.
When it is time for bed I turn off my phone,
All of them hide from view.
Nowhere to be seen.
Nowhere to be seen.
It’s almost as if I was always all alone.

AGG20140413

As in a Dream: A Song
by Li Qingzhao, tr. by AGG

Who is that in the light beside me as I sit alone in the window?
Just my shadow and myself.
When the lamp sputters out I want to sleep,
But my shadow has hidden itself from view.
Not there. Not there.
I am truly desolate and alone.

Depth Charge: /Ci poems were originally written as song lyrics and the convention is to name them after the tune of the song they were written to, even though the actual tunes are long lost. This is why you have multiple poems with the same title, as in here and here.

·如夢令
誰伴明窗獨坐? 我共影兒兩個。燈盡欲眠時, 影也把人拋躲。無那。 無那。好個淒惶的我。

Qīngzhào Rú mèng lìng
Shuí bànmíng chuāng dú zuò? Wǒ gòng yǐng er liǎng gè.
Dēng jǐn yù mián shí, yǐng yě bǎ rén pāo duǒ. Wú nà. Wú nà. Hǎo gè qī huáng de wǒ.

Li Qingzhao. As if/dream/to cause
Who/accompany/bright/window/aone/me/sit? I/together with/shadow/two/people. Lantern/used up/desire/sleep/time, shadow/also/from/people/flees/hides. Not/there. Not/there. Very/one person/cold/distraught/of/me.

Here is all the ci/词 and responses to it on this blog.

To read Songs about Sex, Death & Cicadas by Andrew Grimes Griffin, just click on the link. To download a pdf, right click on the link and select “Save link as…”

To read  as close as the clouds by Andrew Grimes Griffin, just click on the link. To download a pdf, right click on the linke and select “Save link as…”

To read the chapbook Happy Birthday Hanafuda by Andrew Grimes Griffin just click on the link. To download a pdf, right click on the link and select “Save link as…”

Leave a Reply

