Al Ziz / الزيز

What is the limit?
I am sure nobody knows.
But I assure you,
There’s room in our crowded hearts
For your gently fading ghost.

Last time I saw you:
You were in the Pride Parade,
And as you passed by,
I rushed in from the sidelines,
Surprising you with a hug.

I see you smiling,
I hear you laughing, I see
You walking away.
All of this really happened.
And will not happen again.

So rest with us now,
Memory’s a tricky thing,
And I would hold you
In my mind as in my arms,
Firmly, if for a short time.

AGG20140903
(In Memoriam Ziad Ghaoui)

Ziad Ghaoui March 2014

Ziad Ghaoui March 2014 Photo by MIchael Leon

To read Songs about Sex, Death & Cicadas by Andrew Grimes Griffin, just click on the link. To download a pdf, right click on the link and select “Save link as…”

To read  as close as the clouds by Andrew Grimes Griffin, just click on the link. To download a pdf, right click on the linke and select “Save link as…”

To read the chapbook Happy Birthday Hanafuda by Andrew Grimes Griffin just click on the link. To download a pdf, right click on the link and select “Save link as…”

2 thoughts on “Al Ziz / الزيز

  1. Pingback: Somewhere in Lebanon: A Response to “Peaches of the Two-Coloured Palace” | tankawanka

  2. Pingback: Geometries of Time (Farewell, 2014) | tankawanka

Leave a Reply

